Posted by: megshoeman | April 27, 2008

Stew!

On Friday I made this tasty and colorful stew. I know the photography is dreadful but I took it on iPhoto. Anyhoo, this is my rendition of Vegetarian Groundnut stew, a traditional African dish that customarily includes “meat.” I got the recipe from recipezaar.com and it is listed as Moosewood’s (the vegetarian restaurant). It’s not as sweet in taste as it sounds…the layers of flavors were very nicely balanced.

2 cups chopped onion
2 tablespoons peanut oil or vegetable oil (I added a splash of olive oil of course)
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1 teaspoon pressed garlic clove
2 cups chopped cabbage
3 cups cubed sweet potato (1-inch cubes)
3 cups tomato juice
1 cup apple juice or apricot juice
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon grated peeled fresh gingerroot (I just used a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro (optional) (definitely not optional)
2 chopped tomato (For the tomatoes I used a can of beautiful whole cherry tomatoes and a can of fire roasted diced with garlic from the Hunt’s label)
1 1/2-2 cups chopped okra
1/2 cup peanut butter

Directions

1
Saute onions in the oil for about 10 minutes.
2
Stir in the cayenne and garlic and saute for a couple more minutes.
3
Add the cabbage and sweet potatoes and saute, covered, for a few minutes.
4
Mix in the juices, salt, ginger, cilantro and tomatoes.
5
Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes, until the sweet potatoes are tender.
6
Add the okra and simmer for 5 minutes more.
7
Stir in the peanut butter, place the pan on a heat diffuser, and simmer gently until ready to serve.

I served over toasted pine nut couscous from the Near East line and used sliced bananas as garnish. Not a clash at all- very good.

This struck me as a Fall dish when I first read the recipe but it’s actually quite good for warmer weather. I advise a lighter beer for this one. All we had was Michelob (my favorite regular domestic) but I could almost taste a nice Sam Adams Summer Ale alongside this delicious stew.

Leave a Reply

Categories

