Posted by: megshoeman | April 30, 2008

Mm Bad Withdrawal

The one at Pittsburgh Seminary is among the best theological libraries in the country. I guess I spent all but half my Pittsburgh life in there, lying around on the comfortable chairs in the “fancy room” upstairs in my bare feet, reading and dreaming cozily on and off. That’s one of the things I miss most. The laziness, the utter luxury to just lie around, swept up by God in reading beautiful theology all day- once you’ve had that, one bitter pill is the loss to swallow. And lately I’ve been reading such relatively lightweight stuff…books about dogs, which I like but it’s just not the same, John Haught’s astute read on the “new atheists” but it’s just not enough. Not having access to a decent theological library is a real strain on the heart, that’s all. Oh, for a warm chair, a little flask of wine and even only 40 or so pages of Hans Urs von Balthasar! I’m dying here, man.

Responses

  1. Your post makes me homesick for my days in the library at Duke. Although, I don’t remember having comfortable chairs there, but I miss the rows and rows of books on almost any subject in theology I wanted to read!

  2. I know exactly what you mean!! But I have to agree with Will… there definitely weren’t comfortable chairs at Duke!

    When are we going to start our book club? (Obviously, by my commenting here, I am indicating that I’m back from Germany!) 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

