Posted by: megshoeman | May 4, 2008

Irresistible Boredom

Believe it or not, I’m aware that worship isn’t mostly about me. I agree with James Torrance** that proper worship means participating in Christ’s. It isn’t my show. There’s nothing for me to get right, and it’s not really supposed to be my entertainment period. Then why should I sometimes find worship so dull? And does it matter if I do?
Is it the hopeless uniformity of the ideals and dress of those around me? The precious time wasted in awkward small talk during a thing so important as the sharing of the peace of Christ? The weird conversation with the children (Mind you, I don’t presume to judge here- I personally shrink with dread at the thought of doing a kid’s talk, though I adore kids)? Is it the happy- flappy choice of hymns? The sleepiness with which we seem to hear the gospel of the Lord of the universe? The timid sermon? Hm.
Well, I don’t know what it is. I suppose in times like these I’m just grateful that Christ prays FOR me and even when the spectacle of worship feels to me less than spectacular, there’s no break in communion, no distance driven through the love God is.
**See James B. Torrance’s Worship, Community and the Triune God of Grace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

